Significant Seams is such a great project and this post is so beautiful and thought provoking. I hope you enjoy x

Significant Seams

In the wake of tragedy, heartache, and frustration, the seams of this community are lined with laughter, determination, and grit. The community of Walthamstow, creative, diverse, and generous inspires me, and what Significant Seams aspires to be.

Today, the first words I heard as I arrived at work, “I’m sorry, I’m not here for the class. I’m here to volunteer. I have to volunteer.” An American ex-pat mother, inspired by Gandhi, struggling with her emotions in response to the Connecticut travesty/tragedy. Next, an alert from a customer and fellow social entrepreneur who’s using her influence to help my business. Then, the focus of my day: hosting a funder to see the site of our new premises (which has a donated sofa courtesy of an army of almost invisible volunteers since the last time I was in… which was yesterday, with architects offering to work pro bono!) and to visit the…

View original post 380 more words

Leave a Reply

